Write A Word Or Write A Hundred…But Write!

Posted: July 5, 2013 in encouragement, humor

This week has been an interesting one. Trying to find time to write was a challenge, as always.  I did not get as much writing accomplished as I had hoped.
Fascinatingly enough, all writers have this challenge, or it sure seems. Someone posted a quote that I really liked. So, out of curiosity, I looked to see if there were other quotes along those same lines. And just as I thought, the answer was yes.
I found the encouragement I needed to write. Even if only a few words, it helped me write.
So today’s blog is going to be a list of quotes that helped me and I hope will help you, as well.

“If it sounds like writing, I rewrite it. Or, if proper usage gets in the way, it may have to go. I can’t allow what we learned in English composition to disrupt the sound and rhythm of the narrative.” -Elmore Leonard

“Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout of some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand.” -George Orwell

“I don’t care if the reader hates one of my stories, just so long as he finishes the book.” -Roald Dahl, WD

“We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master.” – Ernest Hemingway

“The greatest part of a writer’s time is spent in reading, in order to write; a man will turn over half a library to make one book.” -Samuel Johnson

“Start before you’re ready.” -Steven Press field

And my last quote for today is this, “Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on.” -Louis L’Amour
If I can do it, you can do it.
Until next Friday, I bid you farewell.

Comments
  1. […] Rose – Interview w/My Novel's Lead Character & a Sneak Peek at a Possible Book Cover! Write A Word Or Write A Hundred…But Write! Jul 7, 2013 | Posted by TamekaMullins in Blog, TamstarzRandomWriterThoughtz, Writer's […]

Leave a Reply

