The First Step I Took To Becoming An Indie Author

Posted: July 19, 2013 in Uncategorized

I am sure you all know that Ryter is not my birth name.  Under my real name I am already published as an indie author.  The first step I took was a visit to Amazon.com.  I looked up self publishing through Amazon and it sent to Createspace.com.  From there it was easy.  You sign up for an account and they guide you through the rest.  As I already had my book written and illustrations drawn, it was just a matter of following the directions and getting it all uploaded.  After all was said and done, I ordered a copy to be sent to me, to make sure it met my standards.  It made my heart skip a beat to see my work but together in an actual book!  I was happy with the product and put it out for the world to buy.  But the problem was, I had not properly learned how to managing marketing.  I sold a dozen copies and many others got it on kindle.  But that was as far as it went.  I didn’t get discouraged because it was my first attempt.  I have since discovered Joanna Penn and her website, thecreativepenn.com.  It is helping me with the marketing aspect.  I will be much better prepared when I finish my current book.  But I do love having my create space account.  It is so helpful to have all my books uploaded on there.  It is kind of like having a safe holding place for them, until I am through with my revisions.

So that is today’s blog.  It is a short one, but very beneficial information.

Until next Friday, I bid you farewell…barring any drama, of course.

Leave a Reply

