Even When You Are Not In The Mood

Posted: August 16, 2013 in encouragement, writing

For me, the actual writing is not the problem.  It is the sitting down and putting that first word on the page.  I have a bad habit of only writing when I am in the mood.  Very little gets accomplished in that frame of mind.  I have thought of other times that I did things when I was not in the mood.  And all the things that would not have been accomplished if I had chosen not to do them, purely because I was not in the mood.  Some things that come to mind are, keeping a job, intentionally creating my children, getting them off to school, cleaning house, baking a cake for a birthday party, paying my taxes, and so on.

Some times you can do things to help put you in the mood.  Other times a nice nudge is helpful.  And still other times you just have to make yourself write.  Pure and simple….messy and difficult…you do what you gotta do.  When you go to your day job, you go regardless of your mood.  You need that paycheck.  And it is that way with writing.  If you do not do your job you will never earn that paycheck.  And really, writing is so much more than a paycheck.  It is a release of your pent up imagination, it is an expression of who you are and it moves your characters along in their life.  They all lay in wait of your ink.  They need your ink to talk to you and to tell you their story.  Your characters love you and they can’t wait to talk to you again.

So once a day, make a date with your characters.  Light some candles, put  on some soft music and let them tell you about their day, even when you are not in the mood.

Until next Friday, I bid you farewell.

Leave a Reply

