An 8 Foot Kangaroo In The Backseat

Posted: August 23, 2013 in dreams, writing

I don’t know about other writers, but oftentimes I dream my books.  I come from a family of “seers”.  It isn’t uncommon for one of us to “see” impending doom or dream warnings.  So when I dream, I never know just exactly what I am going to get.  When I am in the middle of writing a book, I tend to get scenes out of my story.  The story lies inside me and waits to present itself.  But other times, I just dream craziness.

One example, is the dream I had a few days ago.  I dreamed I had to transport an 8 foot kangaroo, half way across the country, in the backseat of a small car.  My cousin was there to help me.  He got in the backseat and pulled the kangaroo’s tail and I pushed the flea ridden creature from the front.  We finally got it into the backseat and I got in the front to drive.  I looked back in my rear view mirror and said to my cousin, “Bet you never thought you would be traveling half way across the country with an 8 foot kangaroo in the backseat, huh?”  He rolled his eyes at me and huffed real loud.  I actually awoke from that dream because I was laughing out loud.  That dream meant absolutely nothing and was not a scene in any book I intend to write.  Unless it is a children’s book.  Ooooo, okay, so maybe that dream was a scene from a book after all.  Okay, so that wasn’t a good example of a dream that is just pure nonsense.  But that’s okay.  I suppose all my crazy dreams could technically become books.

So back to the original thought, I dream my books.  I honestly do wonder how many others of you dream your books as well.  It makes it hard to decide if I prefer being asleep or being awake.  When I am sleeping I dream books and when I am awake, I write them.  Being a writer is the most wonderful gift in the entire world.

Happy, crazy, scary, romantic, erotic, exciting dreaming to you!

Until next Friday, I bid you farewell.

Comments
  1. wraithsword says:

    Perhaps a distant relative of Elwood P. Dowd’s, Harvey…

Leave a Reply

