When Life Throws You Lemons, Make Lemonade…What About a Boulder in Your Face?

Posted: November 2, 2013 in determination, encouragement, inspiration, writing

This week has been about moving, getting settled and molding young minds.  I have two moves inside of four weeks.  That in itself is exhausting.  The first of the two moves has been done.  This past week has been about a multitude of feelings, anxieties, and fears.  All of which have been accomplished.  Not sure if that is good or bad or maybe just life.  There is little worse than being blind sided with information you never knew existed, but that has happened as well.  I liken it to the saying, “when life throws you lemons…make lemonade”, but what do you do when life throws a freakin boulder at your face?  I have tossed that one around a bit and come up with a few answers.  One, you can take a sledge hammer and bust it into a thousand bits.  Two, let it take you out and pray for a quick end.  Three, duck…  Who knows what is the correct answer, I suppose it really doesn’t matter.  You see a boulder coming and in the end, you just deal with it.  We all get caught off guard, we all get knocked down.  All that matters is that we all get back up again.  Took a bit, but I got up, dusted off my britches, took a deep breath and am ready to face the next boulder or light fluffy, playful snowball…whatever life has for me…bring it.

The plus to this week was the precious little girls who were fascinated by a children’s book I wrote.  I think the best part of the experience was when one decided she wanted to write  a book, too.  So I got to ask her things like, what is on your mind?  What do you want to write a story about?  Oh, a flower?  Where does it live?  Where will it go?  Oh, dear, what happens next?  It was so wonderful to see the wheels turning in her mind and to encourage her to write.  It made my heart sing to see the excitement in her eyes as her character sprang to life in her imagination!  Only thing better than writing is teaching a child to write.  Showing a child that she can create characters, follow their adventures and put it on paper.  Amid all my own heartache, turmoil and sad surprises, this was the one thing that could make it all okay.  I am so grateful for that experience.  I honestly forgot how good teaching feels.

My goal this week is to write.  Write on my book.  My characters have waited patiently as I have cried my own river, lost sight of my goals in all my hurts and learned to smile again through a child’s excitement in a story she created.  I can do this, I will do this…for as a writer, I really have no choice but to do this.

Until next Friday, I bid you farewell.  x

Leave a Reply

