My Writing Process Blog Tour

Posted: March 24, 2014 in Uncategorized, writing

Today is blog tour day. The blog tour is where writers and authors answer questions about their writing process. My friend Blakely Bennett posted hers last week. You can check out her writing process here: http://www.blakelybennett.com/blog/

What am I working on?
I am working on my historical fiction novel, The Immoral Injustice of Talisyn O’Reilly: Ireland Still Calls My Name. It is a story that begins with the Cromwellian Conquest of Ireland and moves my protagonist into slavery in America. It’s not only a story regarding the atrocities experienced by the Irish, it also has some mystical factors added in for good measure. The release date keeps getting pushed back. I want this first book to be perfect. I am aiming for end of May.

How does my work differ from others in its genre?
I enjoy reading historical fiction and supernatural. The book I am writing has taken those two genres and mixed them up. Like the Reese’s peanut butter cup commercial. Taking two awesome things, combining them and coming up with a wonderful new product.

Why do I write what I do?

I have worked on my genealogy for 25 years in hopes of finding some Native American heritage. I found everything but Native American. I even had my DNA tested. Those test results showed so much in my heritage. Ireland being a good portion of my make up. I began to research Ireland and made many connections between its history and how my family ended up in America. After reading about many of the horrors they survived, I realized I had never heard about such things. And the world needs to know about the strength and determination of the Irish. It gave a whole new meaning to ‘the fighting Irish’. I want to share this history with the world.

How does your writing process work?

With this book it started with a dream. Three scenes came to me in dreams. The middle, end and then beginning. I am filling in the blanks now by channeling my protagonist. It is like watching a movie through her eyes. I never know from one minute to the next what will happen. And oftentimes find myself saying out loud, “Wow! I didn’t see THAT coming!” I love the writing process. It is my drug.

Thank you for reading. You can check out the writing processes for my fellow authors Edwin Berne, Ron Chapman and Mercedes Keyes next Monday, March 31st.

Next Week:

edwin berne Edwin Berne – Edwin Berne lives in Northern New England. He is the author of The Devil’s Apocalypse Book I. An active social activist promotes positive social change.

https://www.facebook.com/worksofEdwinBerne?notif_t=fbpage_fan_invite

ron chapman Ron Chapman – Ok, here I go… I’m a published author at Imaginary Publishing. I like to write unimaginable stories that are dark and twisted in nature. With Kringle free from my head, next up is Scarecrow, Twisted Madness then Raggedy Ann. The full title of my first book is Kringle, a twisted christmas tale. My blog link is: http://kiltedmonkeyauthor.blogspot.com/

mercedes keyes Mercedes Keyes – Mercedes Keyes is an author of nineteen completed works – contemporary and historical, and currently working on number twenty. Saoirse – is an historical saga of America’s Irish Slaves. When she’s not writing, she is digging deeper and refining her 3D graphics arts and polishing up on her lessons of animation. She is a mother of three – grandmother of seven and currently separated – living in America and for once appreciating the advantages of being FREE.
Website: http://amberswann.blogspot.com

Comments
  1. LOVED it T-sis, excellent job!

  2. Brian Benson says:

    Liked this a lot Ryter, and the authors you’ve included. Nice concept…:)

Leave a Reply

