My Perfect Mother’s Day

Posted: May 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

My Mother’s Day was so amazing.  It actually started a few minutes before midnight when my daughter could no longer stand it and she gave me a top she bought me.  It is so cute!  I absolutely love it!  I went to bed so happy.  Just a happy night.  I slept well.

Then I woke up to a text from my son’s fiance telling me that she is happy to have me in her life and she loves me.  She was my first Happy Mother’s Day.   Then my son took me see Spiderman 2 in IMAX 3D.  I had no idea what that was going to be like.  I haven’t been to a movie in a year or so and this was a fancy schmancy theatre.  He bought our tickets outside from a machine and there was no line.  Then he held the door open for me and I walked in to a colorful, fascinating world that smelled like heaven.  I had forgotten how much I love going to the movies.  There was a bar and a really nice concession stand.  The soda machine was insane.  I will post a picture of it!  He bought me nachos and a hot dog and a large drink.  The hot dogs weren’t ready yet so Erika said she would bring me my hot dog in the theatre.  I wasn’t sure how she would find me but I said okay.  Then I decided I wanted tea.  There were four types of tea to choose from!  My son was getting his soda and I looked at the grown man who stood before me.  I couldn’t be more proud to be his mom.  He is so tall and handsome and adventurous and funny and has the sweetest heart of any man I know.  I love how much he loves me, too.  His dad and I aren’t together anymore, but we sure did something right when it comes to our kids.  

We took our food, drinks and 3D glasses and walked through the doors to experience my first time in an IMAX theatre.  I love walking through those doors with the dim lighting and a ramp leading to the stairs.  The stairs with the little lights guiding you.  Finally, we took our seats and got situated.  I looked over at him and he smiled.  He was so excited for me to experience IMAX 3D.  Then it was time to put on our glasses and I saw things I cannot even put into words…and I am a writer!  The countdown numbers spinning and coming at me!  When Spiderman would fly, I felt like I was on his back.  It was so exciting!  So amazing!  I didn’t want to take my eyes off the screen for even a second!  I laughed, I cried and I sat stunned when it was over.  What a ride!  I wanna go again when I can.  That was just incredible!  We left the theatre and I almost tossed my 3D glasses in the trash bin, as it wasn’t clearly marked, but I didn’t do it.  I figured it out.  

Then he took me to Dillard’s department store to get my skin care.  They were running a Mother’s Day special and so I got travel stuff which I will need next month for when I spend the weekend with my boyfriend.  He will be in town on business and I am so excited to spend some time with him.  I know we have known each other since we were 15 years old, but it’s different now.  It’s exciting and new, too.  

We got home and I got ready for work.  Yes, I worked on Mother’s Day.  I am so grateful for my job, so I was fine with working.  Work went well and I enjoyed my coworkers.  Then I walked to Target and my son met me there.  We needed to get a red bell pepper for my daughter who was home preparing a late dinner for me.  I will post a pic of that, too.  I visited a bit with the cashier named, Reid.  Nice kid.  Then we headed home.

I walked in the front door and smelled the most wonderful aroma.  Got to the kitchen and saw the Mediterranean food she was preparing for me.  All the colors and chopping and mixing and stirring.  I watched my beautiful daughter in awe at what an amazing young woman she has grown into.  So strong and confident.  Her own photography business, amazing cook and one of the strongest women I have ever known.  She was very busy but still found time to take a pic of me in my new shirt she gave me.  It was so wonderful to come home to a hot meal prepared just for me.  

My son in law came to me and said that Game of Thrones would be on at 10:30pm.  Like I said, late dinner.  So I curled up on the couch in their living room (my son and his fiance have a living room, too).  Ate my wonderful food with a glass of wine and watched Game of Thrones.  That is mine and my son laws show.  We watch it together each week.  I love that time with him.  I wanted a second glass of wine and before I could get up he took my glass and got one for me.  That meant more than he will ever know.  They were all taking care of me and I truly appreciated it.  They didn’t notice but my eyes teared up a lot that day.  Proud tears, tears of joy, tears of love.  A love only tears can express as there are no words.

I ended the day with a thought provoking conversation with my boyfriend that left my head reeling (in a very good way) with all the hopes, dreams and possibilities for our future together.  I was unable to sleep.  After a day like that, I was just too happy to sleep.  So I went to the kitchen to get some water and my son in law was up.  He has trouble sleeping.  He asked if I had ever seen Fight Club and I said no.  He asked if I would like to.  I said yes and laid on the couch.  I watched an hour or so when my eyelids finally got heavy.  We can finish it another time.  It was just nice to be in a place where I feel so at home and so loved.  My perfect Mother’s Day.

Thank you for reading and have a wonderful week!  X

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Comments
  1. mkeyes01 says:

    Aaaaah – and you are worth every moment and pleasure of that wonderful day! ❤

Leave a Reply

